Best Practice: DSGVO-Daten-Compliance mit eperi

Die EU-DSGVO tritt im Mai 2018 in Kraft. Sind Sie bereit?

Was ist die DSGVO?

Nach mehreren Jahren der Ausarbeitung tritt am 25. Mai 2018 die europäische Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) in Kraft. Sie soll private und sensible Daten von EU-Bürgern schützen. Die DSGVO folgt auf die EU-Datenschutz-Direktive von 1995 und bringt unter anderem härtere Strafen für Nicht-Compliance und Sicherheitsvorfälle mit Datenschutzrechtsverletzungen mit sich. Sie erlaubt EU-Bürgern zudem stärkere Kontrolle darüber, was Organisationen mit ihren Daten anfangen können.

Mit der Einführung der DSGVO gibt es nun eine EU-weit standardisierte Richtlinie für alle Organisationen – selbst außerhalb der EU –, die Daten von EU-Bürgern verarbeiten und speichern.

Wen betrifft die DSGVO?

Organisationen, die personenbezogene Daten kontrollieren oder verarbeiten, müssen den neuen gesetzlichen Rahmen der DSGVO einhalten.

Organisationen, die personenbezogene Daten erheben und sammeln, gelten unter DSGVO als „Verantwortliche“. Diese (also Ihr Unternehmen) müssen alle nötigen Schritte ergreifen, um personenbezogene Daten zu schützen und den Best Practices der Industrie hierzu zu folgen. Dies gilt auch, wenn die Datenverarbeitung durch einen Dritten geschieht – etwa Cloud-Services oder Software-as-a-Service-Anbietern.

Haftungsausschluss: Diese Website ist keine Rechtsberatung für Ihr Unternehmen zur Einhaltung der DSGVO. Stattdessen erhalten Sie Hintergrundinformationen, die Ihnen helfen, besser zu verstehen, wie eperi Ihrem Unternehmen helfen kann, einige wichtige DSGVO-Anforderungen zu erfüllen.

Wie können eperi Cloud Data Protection Lösungen meinem Unternehmen helfen, die Einhaltung der DSGVO-Compliance-Vorgaben zu kontrollieren?

Das Erfüllen von rechtlichen und regulatorischen Daten-Compliance-Vorgaben ist ab sofort ein zentraler Bestandteil der Cloud-Adoption Ihres Unternehmens.

Die DSGVO fordert den Schutz personenbezogener Daten über den gesamten Lebenszyklus hinweg. Das bedeutet: Sie müssen jederzeit die volle Kontrolle über Ihre Daten behalten. Dazu sollen Sie angemessene Schritte einleiten, um personenbezogene Daten zu schützen – auch wenn Ihr Unternehmen diese in Cloud-Services wie Office 365 oder Salesforce speichert und verarbeitet.

Wenn Ihr Unternehmen als Verantwortlicher die Daten eines Kunden in der Cloud speichert, können Sie die Verantwortung für die Sicherheit dieser Informationen nicht abgeben.

DSGVO nennt gezielt Verschlüsselung als eine der wirkungsvollsten Maßnahmen, um personenbezogene Daten zu schützen. Primär wird Pseudonymisierung gefordert: das Verarbeiten personenbezogener Daten auf eine Weise, die es nicht erlaubt, diese ohne zusätzliche Informationen zum Datensubjekt zurückzuverfolgen.

Nehmen wir einmal an, Ihr Cloud-Service-Anbieter würde erfolgreich angegriffen und alle seine Kundendaten wären potentiell kompromittiert. Kann Ihr Unternehmen in dieser Situation nachweisen, dass die Daten Ihrer Kunden trotzdem sicher sind, da sie beim Cloud-Service-Anbieter nur verschlüsselt vorliegen und die Schlüssel sich allein in Ihrer Hand befinden, sinkt die Wahrscheinlichkeit, Strafen zu erhalten oder Kunden benachrichtigen zu müssen. Hätte Ihr Cloud-Service-Anbieter Zugriff auf die Schlüssel, bestünde die Möglichkeit, dass auch Daten Ihrer Kunden in solch einem Szenario kompromittiert wurden.

Hier kommt eperi Cloud Data Protection ins Spiel: eperi nutzt die DSGVO-Prinzipien „Zentralisierung“ und „Datenschutz by Design“, um eine transparente Datenkontrollschicht zu implementieren. Diese erlaubt Ihrem Unternehmen, die Daten-Schutz-Compliance von einem zentralen Kontrollpunkt aus zu verwalten und sensible Daten zu schützen, bevor diese in Cloud-Services wie Office 365, Salesforce oder ServiceNow gespeichert und verarbeitet werden.

DSGVO-konformer Datenschutz beim Hinzuziehen von dritten Datenverarbeitern

Hat die Datenschutzfolgeabschätzung (engl. Data Protection Impact Assessment, DPIA) in Ihrem Unternehmen ergeben, dass Sie personenbezogene Daten mit dritten Datenverarbeitern, wie Cloud-Services teilen, müssen Sie Vorkehrungen treffen, damit Risiken und Schwachstellen beim Übertragen, Verarbeiten und Speichern dieser sensiblen Informationen minimiert werden.

In unserem YouTube-Videotutorial erläutern wir Ihnen die wichtigsten Richtlinien und Prinzipien der DSGVO, die beim Übertragen, Verarbeiten und Speichern von personenbezogenen Informationen bei der Einbindung von dritten Datenverarbeitern zu beachten sind.

Hinweis: Das Videotutorial ist nur in englischer Sprache verfügbar.

01 – Data Protection Impact Assessment (DPIA)

Do I need to complete a Data Protection Impact Assessment (DPIA) when transferring and processing PII and sensitive PII data to a third-party data processor?

02 – Privacy by Design and Default

Addressing data protection as a fundamental requirement to meeting GDPR Compliance, especially when using a data processor service. Learn about the concepts of Privacy by Default and by Design.

03 – GDPR Principle: Centralization

Understanding the Centralization principle and using a central point of architectural control to stay in control of your data.

04 – Key Principles of Data Pseudonymization

Understanding how pseudonymization of critical data works and why it is important.

05 – Key Principles of Data Anonymization

Understanding how anonymization of critical data works and why it is important.

06 – Data Breach Notifications

Understanding your organization’s notification duties in case of a security breach.

07 – Data Processor Compliance

Understanding how eperi Cloud Data Protection addresses GDPR data compliance in a data processor environment.

Wie profitiert mein Unternehmen von eperi Cloud Data Protection?

  • Compliance-Vorgaben bei Einbindung von Cloud Services einfacher umsetzen.
  • Gibt Ihnen die alleinige Kontrolle über sämtliche Verschlüsselungsprozesse.
  • Nur Ihr Unternehmen hat Zugriff auf sensible Daten.
  • Ihr Unternehmen kontrolliert alle Datenschutz-Prozesse.
  • Reduziert das Risiko bei Datenverlust.
  • Gestohlene Daten sind nutzlos außerhalb Ihres Unternehmens.
  • Datenschutz-Prozesse beeinträchtigen nicht die Nutzererfahrung in Ihren Cloud-Anwendungen.
  • Nutzen Sie alle Vorteile Ihrer Cloud-Anwendung, ohne Kompromisse beim Datenschutz einzugehen.

Best Practice: Meet GDPR Data Compliance with eperi

The GDPR will come into effect in May 2018. Are you ready?

What is GDPR?

After years of work by the EU, on 25 May 2018, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) will come into force with the focal aim to protect the private and sensitive data of EU citizens.

GDPR will supersede the 1995 EU Data Protection Directive, by introducing tougher fines for non-compliance and breaches as well as giving people more control over what organizations can do with their data.

With the introduction of GDPR, there will now be one standardized rule throughout the EU which will apply to all organizations — even outside the EU — who process and store personal data from EU citizens.

Who does GDPR apply to?

Organizations that control or process personal data – also called Personally Identifiable Information (PII) – will all need to abide by the law set by GDPR.

Under the regulation, those that create and collect PII are referred to as “data controllers”. As such, data controllers (your company) must take all the steps to protect personal data and ensure they follow the industry’s best practices, even when the actual processing of the data is handled by a data processor – such as cloud services or Software as a Service (SaaS) providers.

Disclaimer: This website is not a legal advice for your company to use in complying with GDPR. Instead, it provides background information to help you better understand how eperi can help your organization to address some important GDPR requirements.

So how can eperi Cloud Data Protection solutions help my organization address GDPR data compliance needs?

Addressing Legal and Regulatory Data Compliance requirements is now a critical part of your organization’s cloud adoption planning and execution.

For your organization to confidently meet GDPR requirements where personal data needs to be protected in use, at rest and in motion, you need to be in full control of the data. That means proving you have taken reasonable steps to protect personal data – even when your organization is using Cloud services like Office 365 or Salesforce to store and process the data.

If your company as a data controller puts a customer’s sensitive information in the Cloud, you cannot dodge responsibility for protecting it.

The GDPR specifically cites encryption as the leading tool to use, primarily pseudonymization, or the processing of personal data in such a way that it cannot be linked back to a data subject without additional information.

Say, for instance, that your Cloud service provider is breached, putting all of its customers’ data at risk. If your organization can prove that your data is safe because it is encrypted and you only control the encryption keys and not the breached party, then there may be no need to notify your own customers or incur fines. However, if the breached Cloud service provider has also access to the encryption keys to its customer’s data, then there is reasonable doubt that hackers could have accessed the data.

Well, this is where eperi Cloud Data Protection comes in: eperi leverages the principles of GDPR specifications for ‘Centralization’ and ‘Privacy by Design’ to implement a transparent data control layer allowing your organization to enforce data protection compliance via a single point of architectural control prior to sensitive data being stored or processed in Cloud services such as Office 365, Salesforce, ServiceNow, etc.

Addressing GDPR data protection when working with data processors

If an enterprise’s DPIA and PIA has identified that it is sharing PII and sensitive PII data with a third-party data processor, it now has to mitigate the risks and exposures when transmitting, processing or storing this critical information. Watch our YouTube video tutorial to understand key GDPR guidelines and principles when transmitting, processing or storing PII and sensitive PII data to third-party data processors.

01 – Data Protection Impact Assessment (DPIA)

Do I need to complete a Data Protection Impact Assessment (DPIA) when transferring and processing PII and sensitive PII data to a third-party data processor?

02 – Privacy by Design and Default

Addressing data protection as a fundamental requirement to meeting GDPR Compliance, especially when using a data processor service. Learn about the concepts of Privacy by Default and by Design.

03 – GDPR Principle: Centralization

Understanding the Centralization principle and using a central point of architectural control to stay in control of your data.

04 – Key Principles of Data Pseudonymization

Understanding how pseudonymization of critical data works and why it is important.

05 – Key Principles of Data Anonymization

Understanding how anonymization of critical data works and why it is important.

06 – Data Breach Notifications

Understanding your organization’s notification duties in case of a security breach.

07 – Data Processor Compliance

Understanding how eperi Cloud Data Protection addresses GDPR data compliance in a data processor environment.

How can my organization benefit from eperi Cloud Data Protection?

  • Get the compliance „tick in the box“.
  • Maintain sole control of sensitive data.
  • Only your organization has access to sensitive data.
  • Your organization controls the data protection.
  • Reduce the risk of data loss.
  • Meaningless data if compromised outside your organization.
  • Data protection processes in place do not impact the user experience of your Cloud app users.
  • Leverage full advantage of your Cloud application with no compromise to data protection controls.